Real Radio…..The End.

Real Radio becomes Heart this Monday and personally I’m not that excited because I feel that another radio station for Scotland will end up at some point having more shows broadcast from England than it will from Scotland I could be wrong but you never know.

Anyone who knows me well knows that I am not a fan of “Networking” shows and stations, indeed to me it stifles talent coming through from our colleges etc when one presenter goes out on a multitude of stations at the same time, I feel that each show should have an individual presenter from that area but that’s an argument for another day.

Real Radio for me was Scottie McClue, Wee Fat Boab, Steve McKenna, The Real Football Phone In with Ewan and Roughie and The awesome Robin Galloway Breakfast Show as well as one or two other shows that I would love listening to however over the years it became a shadow of its former self and I kept finding myself tuning out more and more and a huge part of this was due to in my opinion that Real were trying to rival Capital FM and it didn’t/hasn’t worked, Capital do a great job and having visited their studios last year (at the time I was not a fan of Capital) I found a very professional set-up and a “family-like” atmosphere with everyone very friendly and chatty and my opinion of Capital changed and there are still some great folk there Callum and Des to name but 2 and I found myself tuning into Capital more than Real.

I believe in my humble opinion that Real lost it’s origins and just really played One Direction, Rhianna, BeyoncĂ©, Miley Cyrus etc on a loop or so it seems and they seemed to have forgotten that they had an older audience out there that they were supposed to be catering for and another thing is it seemed to become the Gary Barlow station because whenever I seemed to put Real on within 5 minutes a Barlow song would be played I’ve never been and never will be a fan and maybe it was just bad timing but they’d as been as well as sticking his album on in a loop.

Real Radio in its day was superb Scotties brilliant show at night, the laughs on the Football Phone In, and Robins wind up’s throw in Steve McKenna’s madness and it was a great station which I hate to say ended up being a shadow of its former wonderful self.

So it’s goodbye to Real and Hello to Heart I may give it a listen but a part of me wishes the shows that made Real great were still on the go.
My very best wishes to all at Real and Heart.

Leave a Reply

